My very own not-so-secret tortilla recipe

So, despite my tweeting efforts (if putting the one tweet out two weeks ago actually counts as “efforts”), I didn’t get any secret tortilla recipes unveiled. I don’t mean any decent secret tortilla recipes, I actually mean I didn’t get any recipe at all. Not one. Reasons for that might span from “sorry man, I don’t even know how to fry an egg” to  “why on Earth would I tweet you my egg secrets, you twat?”. I decided not to over think it and make something up myself. That, and I didn’t manage to go grocery shopping today, so hardly had anything at home other from eggs, potatoes and frozen bread. So, no recipe in hand – I really didn’t feel like trusting the internetz on this one – I started the magic. Big intro over, here goes my real simple tortilla recipe, that may or may not offend some legendary family secrets no one shared with moi.

  • 1 large potato
  • 1 medium sized red onion
  • 6 M eggs
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
  1. I first peeled and cut the potato into about 3mm slices. Not too thin, not too thick.
  2. Then I steamed them (I know, I know, my conscience gets the best of me sometimes), chopped up the onion and let it fry in the olive oil while I cracked and beat the eggs. Don’t over beat them – leave a little white showing.
  3. Salt and pepper to taste (could have added parsley too, I love parsley in eggs).
  4. By now the onions were almost done, and the potatoes too. I added the potatoes to the onions and let them sauté a little.
  5. Shoved the whole thing into the egg bowl (yeah, should have mentioned that before: don’t use a tiny bowl) and mixed it evenly.
  6. Put the pan back on the stove (it should still be oily, no need to add more) and poured everything in. I let it cook in low-medium heat for a while, checking that it didn’t stick with a spatula. It mostly cooks on one side (I think I’ve heard before that you shouldn’t have to flip an authentic tortilla – but I might be making it up).
  7. My tortilla however, is all but authentic so I shamelessly turned it with a plate before it was fully cooked – scared it would burn to be honest. I then let it finish cooking, shouldn’t stick at all, and voilá! Turn it or slide it back onto the plate and: done.

Meanwhile, I heated up that frozen bread, since there wasn’t enough salad for the two of us, remembered I was going to blog about this, snapped a quick mediocre photo with my phone, and off to the couch where we ate, while watching some silly TV series on the laptop.

Regular Tuesday evening in. And tasty one too.

Tagged

Leave a comment